Cart: 0 items


Prev Click to zoom Next

Katana Low Deflection Pool Cue Shaft

Print Page
Market Price: $199.00
Our Price: $169.15
You Save $29.85 (15%)
Availability: In Stock
Usually ships within 24 hours

Product Options

Product Information

SKU:  KATXS

Brand:  

Questions?

866-843-3294

Monday - Friday

8:30AM - 5:00PM

Overview


This product qualifies for Free Ground Shipping in the lower 48 United States!

Looking for a performance shaft that doesn't carry the huge performance price tag with it? You've come to the right place.

The Katana shaft is taking the performance shaft market by storm, drastically reducing cue ball deflection while increasing overall playability. Every Katana shaft is constructed with 10 pieces of radial lamination, a shorter 3/8" ferrule and the new 12.5mm Katana Tip by Tiger.

We've played with it and love it, but don't take our word for it. Check out the action one of our customers was able to put on the cue ball with their new Katana shaft and read the reviews from people who have bought and played with this new billiards weapon.

Specifications

Tip: 12.5mm Katana by Tiger
Ferrule: 3/8" Fiber
Shaft: 29" 10 Radial Spliced Hardrock maple pieces 18" Pro Taper
Joint: 5/16x14, 5/16x18, 3/8x10, 3/8x8, Uni-Loc
Warranty: 1 Year Manufacturer

Reviews

Login to Review

      • Currently 5/5 Stars.
        March 20, 2014

      CB

    • By - See All My Reviews
    • Rank: Rookie

    • Like this shaft plays super. Put this shaft on my Viking cue improved all aspects of my game. Looking at buying another. Did have the tip changed to a Kamui Black med great tip but that's another story.

    • Report Abuse

    • ( 2 of 2 people found this review helpful.)

      • Currently 5/5 Stars.
        September 29, 2012

      Amazed

    • By - See All My Reviews
    • Rank: Rookie

    • Had been playing with my standard 13mm Viking shaft before I got this bad boy in the mail. I am blown away at the performance/price ration of this shaft. I've hit around with McDermott's, OB's, and even the new Viking X-Act Shot (or however you spell it), and love my Katana over all of them. Worth every penny, especially for the great price. My consistency of shots has improved dramatically, and the mean amount of English I put on this shaft doesn't phase it at all. Couldn't recommend highly enough. Nice and buttery smooth through the fingers. I wish someone had told me about the Katana a long time ago. Also, if you have a Viking butt, make sure you request to have the Katana tapped out for the quick release pin that you likely have. I had to send my Katana back to get this done. Once I got it back though, I've been in heaven. May your stroke be straight and your aim be true.

    • Report Abuse

    • ( 128 of 128 people found this review helpful.)

      • Currently 1/5 Stars.
        May 12, 2011

      anyways

    • By - See All My Reviews
    • Rank: Hustler

      Top 100 Reviewer

    • Well I finally tried this shaft on my joss hustler sneaky pete.and I seen plenty good reviews and I tried it out.believe me when I say.it is just all hype.nowhere near a blackdot,predator shafts,gcore,and etc.its ok just like a regular shaft.but to each its own.if you want a a low deflection shaft this is not really a good one but would be good one to start and practice with it...I use to to break instead.see ya and good luck

    • Report Abuse

    • ( 4 of 4 people found this review helpful.)

      • Currently 5/5 Stars.
        May 6, 2011

      Conclusion

    • By - See All My Reviews
    • Rank: Rookie

      Top 100 Reviewer

    • Well I got my second shaft just in time as my first one got a bad ding on the taper so I had to put it in the lathe and cut it 12.35mm also I changed the tip to a Tiger Everest which I must say plays much better than the original one as I get more English with it an still almost no deflection .
      I also found that the difference with the taper the shaft was a little more flexible but both the original new and the re-tapered one played very well. I can screw on either one and do not have to do any readjustment for it.
      I will recommended the Katana to any one .

    • Report Abuse

    • ( 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.)

      • Currently 5/5 Stars.
        April 8, 2011

      Radically Awsome Shaft

    • By - See All My Reviews
    • Rank: Rookie

      Top 100 Reviewer

    • I am impressed, I have been playing tournaments for 10 years now and have gone from Viking to Meucci to predator and as powerful as my black dots are and as controlling as my 314_2 is this blew me away. I use to switch shafts to deal with table speed but this does it all English speed and control, so I bought a second one .

    • Report Abuse

    • ( 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.)

      • Currently 5/5 Stars.
        February 6, 2011

      final review

    • By - See All My Reviews
    • Rank: Banger

    • back again, n this is my final review. to put it simply... i love it!! i have played with this shaft for months now, it has all the work-ablility one could hope for from a shaft. i have allowed people to compare it to their more expensive LD shafts n they agree that if they could go back they would buy this shaft over their LD shafts because of how much cheaper it is. I have also gotten many comments on how i am able to move the cueball around the table to get leaves and breakouts when needed n i always tell them it's because of the shaft! thank you katana!!!!

      i swear it will not disappoint!!!

    • Report Abuse

      • Currently 5/5 Stars.
        February 4, 2011

      Great Price.

    • By - See All My Reviews
    • Rank: Rookie

    • I'm not going to leave a full reveiw as of yet. I got the shaft in excellent condition but had one problem. I ordered it to fit my Mcdermott cue and the threads were too tight and had to send it back to be re-tapped. Evreyone I talked to at pooldawg was very helpful. I should get it back in a few days in time to start my next league session. I will leave a full review then....

    • Report Abuse

    • ( 2 of 2 people found this review helpful.)

      • Currently 5/5 Stars.
        January 10, 2011

      Katana

    • By - See All My Reviews
    • Rank: Rookie

    • This shaft has a longer than normal taper. I don't know what is beyond a "Pro taper", but this would be it. I switched from a 314 to the Katana, because of thread differences when I switched cues. I didn't like the tip that came on it, not because of any quality issues, just because I was more used to a Kamui Black Medium's harder hit (best tip ever!), but the Katana tip seemed similar to a Talisman, or Molavia. I tried using my 314 after a couple months, and couldn't get over how much thicker it is (only 0.25mm larger), and really lost the feel for the predator. I really love this shaft and would recommend it to everyone and I even think it plays better than my 314. The biggest difference I've noticed with this shaft vs. other shafts is the ferrule. The ferrule is so short that if you use a chalk that has any kind of wear on it, the edge of the chalk will rub on the wood below the ferrule if you're not careful. I have to pay special attention to this area when I clean my shaft, to be sure that a blue ring is not forming. Not a big deal, and it's not really even an issue.

    • Report Abuse

    • ( 2 of 2 people found this review helpful.)

      • Currently 5/5 Stars.
        January 4, 2011

      Katana Cue Shaft

    • By - See All My Reviews
    • Rank: Rookie

    • This is a good low deflection cue shaft for the price. I also have an OB1. For comparing the deflection of the two shafts, i can't see a big difference. The Katana performs great on extreme english shots and draws. After a couple of weeks with the shaft, I got a Kamui tip installed on it. With the Kamui installed, the performace of the shaft is even better.

      I think this shaft is a wise buy.

    • Report Abuse

      • Currently 5/5 Stars.
        December 6, 2010

      review update

    • By - See All My Reviews
    • Rank: Banger

    • so its been a week n i have played with this shaft alot. i love it n recommend it to others. i let some fellow pool players try it out n they liked it too infact i know of at least two friends who are going to purchase one for their cues. like i said before, the tip that comes with the cues is a good tip and im still getting used to it but i might change the type of tip once this one needs to be repleced, but that is only my personal preference. the shaft gets an A in my book, especially for the cost!

    • Report Abuse

      • Currently 5/5 Stars.
        November 28, 2010

      review of shaft

    • By - See All My Reviews
    • Rank: Banger

    • i just purchased this katana($143.20)ld shaft after months of research on the different kinds i could get for my mcdermott cue and i will submit a more in depth review when i can hit more shots with it. i have only hit a couple draw shots and some inside english rail shots but from what i could tell the hits were solid and it felt nice. the draw had some good zip and the taper of the cue is not as narrow as some people think. i will post another comment in about a week, for those who want to know about a cheaper alternative to the more popular predator($213+) ld shaft.

    • Report Abuse

    • ( 2 of 2 people found this review helpful.)

      • Currently 5/5 Stars.
        November 2, 2010

      Similar to a 314 Shaft

    • By - See All My Reviews
    • Rank: Hustler

      PoolDawg Employee

    • One of the really nice things about working here at PoolDawg is that I get to test out a ton of products. The Katana shaft is a fairly new entry into the low deflection market, competing with the Predator 314 shaft and the OB1 shaft. The shaft has a somewhat longer taper and is slightly thinner at 12.5mm in comparison to the 12.75mm 314 and OB1 shafts. From a performance perspective, it felt extremely similar to the 314. There was not a noticeable difference in deflection between the three shafts.

      As you might recall, we asked a few folks to review this shaft a while back and the response from them was pretty similar to what I found personally. To give you an idea of the level of cue ball control you can get with this shaft, check out the Youtube video which was shot by the infamous blogger OMGWTF.

    • Report Abuse

This item Usually ships within 24 hours.
If you place your order before 1:00PM MST Monday through Friday, we'll get your order packed and shipped that same day. Please take a look at the chart below and you'll be able to estimate the approximate ship time for this item.
shipping_map
Please note that Saturday and Sunday are not considered business days by UPS or USPS.